Laurie is the author of three equestrian romance novels: Where the Bluegrass Grows, Kicking On, and Taking Off! Her upcoming novel, All On, will be published in Winter of 2022.


Taking Off

Taking Off, the third installment in the Equestrian Romance Series, takes a deeper look into the life of Erin Sorrenson. It was published in November of 2019. 

“This novel begins not long after Kicking On ends, and Erin is now newly-divorced and feeling lost. Even though she recognizes that the divorce was necessary, she is having difficulty moving past the intense guilt she harbors inside.

However, instead of dwelling on things she cannot change, Erin takes a leap of faith and applies to be a working student for a professional eventer in Virginia. This was an opportunity she missed out on when she was younger, and she’s determined not to have any more regrets. Erin packs her bags and loads up her horse, Jazzy, and heads south for the winter to reclaim some distant dreams. 

While she expects to work hard and ride even harder, she doesn’t expect to find romance quite so soon, nor does she expect to find her new path in life. But will painful memories from her past prevent Erin from truly moving on?”

Here’s what readers are saying about Taking Off!

“Book number 3 in Laurie Berglie's equestrian romance series, and the books just keep getting better! I loved going off on a Virginia adventure with Erin, and I can't wait to see what happens next for these characters and their horses. Again, I didn't want the story to end, and I savored it by only letting myself read a chapter at a time.”

“This is another fun, light, and entertaining equestrian romance. I liked that this one had lots of detail about different shows and events and a good balance of romance, horses, and the Maryland/Virginia horse country. Berglie’s books are perfect when you want to read something enjoyable and cozy. Looking forward to the next one, (hoping for some fox hunting across the pond)!”

“This is a fantastic third book in the series! The author's vast horse knowledge is apparent throughout, and is greatly appreciated as a horse person myself. I could barely put the book down after I started reading and finished this book exactly as I did the others – wanting to read more! I can hardly wait for more books in this series!”


Kicking On

Laurie’s second novel, Kicking On, is Macy’s story and is the semi-sequel to Where the Bluegrass Grows. It was published in January of 2019.

Macy Holland has it all – a wonderful family, amazing friends, and an exciting career as an equine veterinarian in Lexington, Kentucky. However, all that changes in an instant when tragedy strikes, and Macy is forced to return home to Maryland for good. Even with the love and support of her best friends, Macy is left trying to salvage the bits and pieces of her former life. Then new neighbor and racehorse trainer, Adam Cleary, enters her world and complicates life even further.

Even though Macy’s heart is broken and life seems to be spinning out of control, she knows that she must keep kicking on.” 

Here’s what readers have said about Kicking On!

“I was so excited when some women at my barn told me that a sequel to Where the Bluegrass Grows had been released! I ordered Kicking On that night and couldn't wait for it to come in the mail. This sequel did not disappoint!! Recommending this to the rest of my horse friends, and even the non-horsey ones as well!”

“This book is full of grace, wisdom, and good horsemanship. A must read!”

“In the past, I've bought books written by unfamiliar authors only to regret the money spent and time wasted. I bought this book when the forecast called for a winter storm, thus terminating all possibilities to spend time in the saddle. Let me assure you, I neither wasted money nor time!! Awesome book!! I can't wait to read book #3. Please, please, please write quickly. An equine book written by someone who actually has working knowledge about equines, refreshing. A true pleasure to read!! Thank you!”


Where the Bluegrass Grows

Laurie’s first novel, Where the Bluegrass Grows, Molly’s story, was published in March of 2016.

“When fiction writer Molly Sorrenson realized her real life was starting to read like one of her novels, she knew it was time for a break.

Tired of her life in Maryland, Molly packs her bags and heads west to Lexington, Kentucky, where she’ll spend the summer with her best friend, Macy. Molly’s looking forward to riding horses, doing a little writing, and taking a break from her love life. But then she meets Beau Bridges, a handsome horse vet who steals her heart and turns her world upside down.

As the summer heats up, so does their romance. But when Beau’s past comes back to haunt him, Molly must decide if she should stay in Kentucky, or return home, alone.”

Here’s what readers have said about Where the Bluegrass Grows!

“This was such a nice story! I really liked all the characters, they were very well-developed, and the locations that were featured (Maryland and Lexington, Kentucky). I am a horse person, but this novel would still be very enjoyable for non-horse people as well. It’s the perfect book to add to your summer reading list! I hope the author comes out with a sequel – can’t wait to see what Molly, Beau, and Macy will do next!”

“As a Virginia horsewoman, I loved the east coast/horse country setting of this novel and all the familiar references to hunt countries and Kentucky’s finest farms. It was a very quick read for me, and I thoroughly enjoyed the plot, and the characters were relatable. This book is a perfect feel-good summer romance for horsey and non-horsey readers. Can’t wait to see what the author does next!”

“I just finished reading this book last night, and I loved it! Nothing better than horses and romance!”